About the Journal


The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute was established in 1901 as Man and obtained its current title in 1995, with volume numbering restarting at 1. For first sixty-three volumes from its inception in 1901 up to 1963 it was issued on a monthly basis, moving to bimonthly issues for the years 1964–1965. From March 1966 until its last issue in December 1994, it was published quarterly as a “new series”, with a new sequence of volume numbers (1–29).

For more information about the Royal Anthropological Institute visit the RAI website.



Elizabeth Hallam, University of Oxford, UK


Associate Editor for Archaeology

Duncan Garrow, University of Reading, UK


Associate Editor for Biological Anthropology

Sarah Elton, Durham University, UK


Reviews Editor

Dolores P. Martinez, SOAS, University of London, UK


Editorial Assistant

Stephanie Postar, University of Oxford, UK


Assistant Reviews Editor

Jessica Turner



Editorial Board

Benjamin Alberti, Framingham State University, USA

Rita Astuti, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK

Jean Comaroff, Harvard University, USA

Jacob Copeman, University of Edinburgh, UK

Veena Das, Johns Hopkins University, USA

Sophie Day, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK

Hastings Donnan, Queen’s University of Belfast, UK

Elizabeth Edwards, De Montfort University, UK

Chris Fowler, Newcastle University, UK

Michael Gilsenan, New York University, USA

Anna Grimshaw, Emory University, USA

Penny Harvey, University of Manchester, UK

Eric Hirsch, Brunel University London, UK

Ian Hodder, Stanford University, USA

Martin Holbraad, University College London, UK

Jakob Klein, SOAS, University of London, UK

Tamara Kohn, University of Melbourne, Australia

Tanya Luhrmann, Stanford University, USA

Sharon Macdonald, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany

Jon Mitchell, University of Sussex, UK

Henrietta L. Moore, University College London, UK

Howard Morphy, Australian National University, Australia

Nigel Rapport, University of St Andrews, UK

Emily Rousham, Loughborough University, UK

Lesley A. Sharp, Barnard College, Columbia University, USA

Cris Shore, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Andrew Shryock, University of Michigan, USA

Rupert Stasch, University of Cambridge, UK

Rane Willerslev, National Museum of Denmark, Denmark

Tom Yarrow, Durham University, UK